Lord Byron


WHEN we two parted

In silence and tears,

Half broken-hearted To sever for years,

Pale grew thy cheek and cold,

Colder thy kiss; Truly that hour foretold Sorrow to this.

The dew of the morning Sunk chill on my brow

It felt like the warning Of what I feel now.

Thy vows are all broken, And light is thy fame: I hear thy name spoken,

And share in its shame.

They name thee before me, A knell to mine ear; A shudder comes o’er me— Why wert thou so dear?

They know not I knew thee, Who knew thee too well: Long, long shall I rue thee, Too deeply to tell.

In secret we met

In silence I grieve, That thy heart could forget, Thy spirit deceive.

If I should meet thee After long years,

How should I greet thee? With silence and tears

This entry was posted in Art, Photography, Poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

